Mushroom Thyme Chicken

MTC bannerGrowing up, I grew up on a variety of foods. I don’t mean a little Italian here, a little Mexican there. I mean my dad hunted and often times, we enjoyed what he brought home. My favorite dish he ever made from venison (deer) was a variation of hand breaded, fried venison smothered in delicious cream of mushroom soup. It seems so basic, so simple, but my goodness it was full of flavor and just….amazingness. Now, my husband doesn’t hunt and I obviously don’t- the thought of killing something (even bugs sometimes) makes me sad. So I rarely enjoy venison, but one day last week I found myself craving my dad’s special dish so I went to the drawing board and came up with something similar that did more than just the trick, it set my taste buds over the moon. And it was a lot healthier than fried venison since it uses chicken and it is smothered in a delicious, creamy, peppery, mushroom gravy of sorts and it’s to die for so I knew I had to share it with you guys. The pictures are making me want it again so I think I may need to put it on next week’s meal plan. Take a look for yourself so you can get the stuff to make it for yourself. It’s so simple but so amazing. Don’t deprive your taste buds from this one.

What you need:

  • Fresh Chicken Tenders 1 pound
  • 1 can of Cream of Mushroom Soup + Equivalent Milk
  • 2 tablespoons of Ground Thyme
  • 2 tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Fresh Black Pepper and Kosher Salt (to taste)
  • Baby Bella Mushrooms (or your favorite), cut up into pieces. 

Throwing it all together:

  1. Mix together your oil and thyme and then brush the chicken with it.
  2. Sprinkle salt and pepper all over your chicken tenders.
  3. Heat a small amount of oil in a pan. Just enough to lightly coat the pan. Your chicken already has oil so really we just want to prevent a little extra stickage. I used a cast iron so if you have a non-stick skillet, it may not be needed. Use your best judgment depending on how your skillet does.
  4. On medium high heat, cook your chicken tenders. When they are about 3/4 of the way finished throw in your mushrooms and let them cook until the chicken is fully done. About 3-4 minutes total on each side.
  5. In a bowl, whisk together your milk and soup mixture and then throw it in the pan when the chicken is done.
  6. Add in some more fresh pepper and then let it bubble up for about 10 minutes.
  7. ENJOY!

See how easy it is? And I swear it tastes so mind blowingly amazing for what little it has in it. With the added mushrooms and fresh pepper it really takes it beyond just a simple cream of mushroom soup and thyme really livens up the chicken. Mmm, I need some STAT!

MTC in a pan

MTC Close Up

Look closer! :9

Leave a Reply

