De-Modge Podging Glass, the easy way.

Title De-Modge Podge

Last year for my wedding, everything was black and gold. In a time where most weddings are rustic-y/vintage-y (and they are all gorgeous, seriously), you have me who likes things a little fancy. Black and gold screams fancy. Well, I think so. Anyways, off to Pinterest I went. Like I said, everything wedding is vintage-y now so there are mason jar things everywhere. I stumbled across these really pretty, glitter lined mason jars and a little light bulb went off in the head. Ding! Replace the mason jars with wine glasses and you have yourself an awesome centerpiece feature.

097

The day before the wedding, get it all set up.

Now, I changed a few things up as I only lined the glitter half way up instead of the entire glass because I put water in them and plopped in some floating candles. They gave off a pretty lightening at my lights-off reception! I can’t share a picture here just because all of my photos have guests in them. I have to respect their privacy 🙂

All I did was tape off the area I didn’t want glittered, painted some modge podge up to the line, and then sprinkled some glitter on. When it dried, I coated the glitter with another layer of modge podge with a little water mixed in.

Now, a year later I drug out all of my old wedding stuff to begin selling the stuff I won’t be using anymore since we will (hopefully) be moving soon. I kept a little of everything for memory but I had bulk in almost everything. For example, 34 wine glasses. I didn’t need them, they were taking up space in a giant tote that we could use for moving and storage and stuff. So I got them out and then it hit me, oh yeah- they are covered in gold glitter. Who is going to just so happen to need 34 wine glasses covered in gold glitter? Probably not many. So I knew I had to find a way to get the modge podge off. I read a few different ways online that involved buying some kind of fancy product. I then found one that suggested soaking for recently glittered glass. Mine had been glittered for about a year but I wanted to try it anyways except I took it one extra step extra to ensure good glitter removal and it was SO easy. I was surprised. I was expecting to spend hours prying the glitter off, if it was even going to be possible. I was so excited about how easy it was, I knew I needed to share it with others in case any one else had a glitter-y wedding or just loves to craft.

Soaked glasses

Nice and soaked in Palmolive and hot water. Ready to peel!

It just peels right off!

It just peels right off!

Sometimes in one piece.

Sometimes in one piece.

You would never know they were glittered.

You would never know they were glittered.

To de-modge podge:

  1. Fill your container (or sink or tub) with super hot water. As hot as you can get it.
  2. Take some Palmolive (I used about 5 tablespoons for about 20 gallons of water or more. So eye ball it according to whatever you are soaking your glass in).
  3. Soak for 1 hour.
  4. Peel the glitter (I suggest sitting on a towel or some kind of surface to catch the peels), or whatever you have modge podged on your glass, right off! Just with your hands, nothing fancy.
  5. Wash clean in your dishwasher or sink with warm water, so to get any last smears (there won’t be many), and to just to make it clean.

Have you had any fun modge podge adventures that you’ve needed to reverse? Hopefully my post can help in some way 🙂 or maybe you have some other methods you would like to share. Post in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

