Easy to do Chocolate Truffles.

Chocolate Truffles

Ever since I could remember, I have always been fascinated with fancy food. I grew up and still live in the South so I wouldn’t say I grew up fine dining every night, not that I ate bad- I was just digging in to the Little Debbie box instead of chowing down on Creme Brulee. Again, not a bad thing. Ask anyone, Southern Food is the best food. Little Debbie is the bomb.com, and I have yet to find any dish I didn’t care for with the exception of Butternut Squash Soup.

But I remember my Mom’s boss would host a fancy dinner party for her office every year at Christmas and I was in love with the food. Creme Brulee included. I remember my father and I would pretty much set up camp around the shrimp cocktail before dinner was served in the beautiful dining room. I looked forward to it every year.

So now that I’m older and cooking on my own, I of course find pleasure in making my own little fancy foods. I’m not sure if everyone would call truffles fancy, in some areas they may be as common as oreos but where I’m from you don’t see everyone just serving out truffles at birthday parties and from my experience I have found that people flee from making truffles because they do come off as fancy and there for the first thing that pops into their minds is that they must take some kind of elaborate process to whip up. Oh, how wrong they are! Just because something is fancy doesn’t mean it’s difficult at all. My favorite fancy food is the kind that doesn’t take 500 ingredients and 10 hours to make and there is actually quite a bit of fancy food out there that doesn’t, like truffles. Take a look below and just see how easy it is!

What you need:

  • 16oz of Dark Chocolate Chips
  • 2 cups of Heavy Whipping Cream
  • Unsweetened Cocoa Powder OR melted chocolate (I used the powder)

Just 3 ingredients, WOW.

Putting it all together:

  1. In a medium pot, bring your whipping cream to a boil.
  2. Place your chocolate chips in a heat safe bowl, I find that metal seems to work the best.
  3. Pour your boiling whipping cream over your chocolate chips and let set for 2 minutes. Don’t stir them, don’t wiggle them, don’t do anything for 2 minutes.
  4. After the two minutes is up, go ahead and stir your mixture until the chocolate chips seem nice and incorporated, but don’t over stir.
  5. Place your bowl into an ice bath (just a bigger bowl full of cold water and ice), for 20 minutes, again, not touching.
  6. Once the 20 minutes is over, break our your hand mixer and beat the mixture for about 2 minutes or until it becomes thick and fluffy.
  7. Place your mixture into the fridge and let it sit over night. This will firm it up and make it easier to handle.
  8. The next day, take a spoon or melon baller and scoop out a small amount of the mixture into your hand. Quickly roll the mixture into a ball. Try and do this quickly so the chocolate doesn’t melt so much. Keep in mind, they don’t have to be perfect balls. Just try your best. Set them on a tray with parchment paper.
  9. Set them in the freezer for 15 minutes to firm back up.
  10. Taking each ball, roll them around in your cocoa powder or dip into your melted chocolate,top with nuts, whatever you want to do. Then place them back onto your tray. If you roll on cocoa powder, place them in a strainer and gently tap the sides, just to get the excess powder off. You don’t want too too much powder.

Freeze them for up to a month or refrigerate for about 2 weeks. They are best eaten room temperature but honestly, they taste good no matter how you choose to devour them. And yes, you will devour them.

See, wasn’t that easy? And so yummy. You get quite a bit out of it too so feel free to take them to your next party, fancy or non-fancy.

2 thoughts on “Easy to do Chocolate Truffles.

Leave a Reply

