Montreal Chicken Noodle Soup

Montreal Chicken Noodle Soup

My husband is like any other man, he’s all about meat for dinner. But I like to have 1 or 2 meals a week if I can swing it, be meatless. When I make something meatless, it has to be full of flavor and have a nice meaty punch to it regardless of the lack of meat. This actually isn’t a hard thing to accomplish at all. I don’t miss meat and I have yet to hear my husband complain about missing it every single night, in fact- he said last night after taking a bite out of some burritos I made him for him to take to work that he would actually enjoy them meatless with 2 different kinds of beans  instead of beef. I had a little celebration in my head that he has embraced this whole meatless every one in awhile thing. I thought it would be super difficult almost impossible for him, I really did.

Before he snacked on a burrito, as I was prepping them he looked in the pantry for some chicken noodle soup. He said he had been having a craving for it. I can’t remember the last time I bought canned chicken noodle soup. Homemade is a gazillion (that’s right, gazillion) times better and is MUCH more cost effective- if you were looking for a cherry on top for making it at home. So tonight right before he came home I whipped up some yummy homemade “chicken” noodle soup but with my own twists and tricks to make it extra flavorful. There is no chicken in this soup but you don’t miss it for even a second. My house smells a little like heaven right now as I type this because not only does it taste amazing, but it smells innnnncredible. Did I mention I literally had everything in the pot within 2 minutes? Mhm, mhm. 2 minutes. I’m pretty proud of that time frame, I’m all about quick meals now that I have about 3-4 hours between waking up and my husband going to work to cook. So let’s dig in!

What you need:

  • 6 cups of water
  • 2 tubs of Knorr Chicken Homestyle Stock 
  • 1.5 Teaspoons of Garlic Powder
  • 2 Teaspoons of Parsley
  • 4 Teaspoons of Onion Powder
  • 4 Tablespoons of McCormick Montreal Chicken Seasoning
  • 2 Cups of Egg Noodles
  • 1 thinly cut carrot
  • Salt to taste

Throw it all together:

  • Bring your water to a boil and when boiling is reached, add in your chicken stock and stir until fully dissolved.
  • Once everything is dissolved, add in the rest of your ingredients, and give it a good stir.
  • Cover and simmer on medium-low for 30-45 minutes.

Now all that’s left is to enjoy! 🙂 How easy was that? What goodies have you transformed into a meatless meal? Share in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

