Sweet and Savory Pork Chops

Have you ever been in a food rut? Not too long ago the only thing my husband and I ate was some sort of chicken breast. Chicken, Chicken, Chicken. Everyday. You kind of get to the point where you are like, if I eat another piece of chicken I am going to turn into a chicken. You totally burn yourself out on something when you eat it constantly, even if it takes a few months, the burn out comes. Unless it’s chocolate, I can seriously eat that everyday.

So how does one avoid turning into a chicken burning out on something? You mix it up! As you guys know, I love to cook so usually mixing it up is what I do best when it comes to menu planning, but when I first began to want to lose weight I some how got the idea in my head that all we should eat was chicken. Now, I have gotten educated about losing weight and realized that portion controlling is the way to go. Say no to deprivation! Eating chicken everyday seriously chased me away from dieting after I ate so much of it. I was tired of just eating chicken. But now I have ventured into the world of different meats, and I have began to start cooking a meat that was often served to me as a child- pork chops. Delicious, tender pork chops.

This past weekend I bought a pack of these delicious pieces of meat and created a scrumptious sauce to serve on top to make it that much butter. After cleaning my plate, I knew I had to share it with you guys! Between the deliciousness of the sauce and the crispiness of the pork chops, your taste buds will be fully satisfied.

Ingredients

For the chops:

  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1 tablespoon of paprika
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 3-4 pork chops

For the sauce:

  • 14 ounces of Coke
  • 1/3 cup of Ketchup
  • 1/2 cup of Light Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon of Cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup of Water
  • Mushrooms (optional)

Throwing it all together:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together your eggs. In a medium shallow pan, mix together your flour, paprika, and salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Dip your pork chops in the flour mixture, then into the egg mixture, then back into the flour mixture. This will make it extra crispy.
  4. Take your coated pork chops and pan fry in vegetable oil for about 1 minute per side. You are just wanting to get it a little crispy.
  5. Put your pork chops into a 9×13 pan and finish baking in the oven for about 15 minutes or until the middle is done. Depending on the thickness of your chops, it may take a little longer. I suggest using thinner chops for this recipe.
  6. While you’re baking the chops, it’s time to make sauce! Take 1 tablespoon of Extra Virgin Olive Oil and sautee your mushrooms on medium heat until brown. I used baby bellas but you can use your favorite mushroom, if any! 🙂 Remove the mushrooms from the pan and sit them aside.
  7. In a medium bowl, whisk your coke, brown sugar, and ketchup until well combined. Then pour the mixture into the same pan you sauteed the mushrooms in.
  8. Bring the mixture to a boil and then reduce the heat to medium-high and allow the sauce to reduce just a tad. About 1/4 of an inch.
  9. While the sauce is reducing, combine your cornstarch and water in a bowl and then slowly begin to add it into the sauce, whisking the entire time.
  10. Once the cornstarch is well combined, allow the sauce to thicken (about 3-4 minutes), stirring occasionally. Then, is using, add if the mushrooms back into the sauce.
  11. Now, all that’s left is to spoon the sauce over those delicious pork chops and enjoy!

Have you ever been in a food rut?

Leave a Reply

