Easy Seafood Skewers

Ever since I was a little girl, Seafood has been my favorite food. I have so many fond memories of family gatherings involving fish fry’s and my parent’s spending a large amount of time cracking crab legs for me. So anytime the opportunity for Seafood presents itself, I’m there!

This past week, I had a hankering for scallops. My hankering for scallops lead to an immense craving for shrimp. And then, Seafood Skewers were officially on the menu. I found myself counting down for the rest of the week for our seafood night. I decided to make it on the weekend so my husband and I could really sit and indulge on them without the pressure of getting it all cooked before it was time for him to get to work.

Some people see Seafood and think that when they want it, they’ll just go out and get it at some over priced Seafood Restaurant. I mean, don’t get me wrong- I love Red Lobster. I was just there 2 weekends ago. But you don’t have to go out and spend a ton of money to enjoy some delicious seafood. You can buy it at your local grocery store, Kroger has an amazing fresh seafood selection. And you can make it right in your own kitchen, you can, I promise you can! Take a look at how I made it this past weekend and get ready to have your own delicious seafood feast, right in your own home.

What you need:

  • 1 pound of Sea Scallops
  • 1 pound of Large Raw Shrimp
  • 2 fillets of your favorite white fish (I used tilapia), chopped.
  • 8 skewers
  • 1 cup of Butter
  • 2 tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning
  • Salt and Pepper

Putting it together: 

  • Begin by melting your butter in a small pot on medium heat.
  • While your butter is melting preheat your oven to 375 degrees and gather your ingredients. Make sure all of your seafood is thawed, cleaned, and ready to go.
  • After your butter has melted, whisk in 2 tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning and sit it to the side.
  • Salt and Pepper your seafood to taste.
  • Begin to place your seafood on your skewers. You’ll have more shrimp and scallops than you will fish, so make sure to keep this in mind while you build your skewers. You can go in any order that you like but I liked to alternate the scallops and shrimp and sometimes adding in some fish between them.
  • Take half of your butter mixture and pour it into a large, glass, baking pan.
  • Place your skewers into the pan.
  • Brush the rest of your butter mixture over your skewers.
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the shrimp is pink, the scallops are lightly browned, and the fish flakes easily with a fork.

SEE?! How easy was that? I bought all of my ingredients pre-cleaned and fresh. So it was an easy assembly. If you buy your fish with skin, skin it. If your shrimp has veins be sure to remove the vein and rinse it off well.

Enjoy your seafood night!

What is your favorite Seafood?

Leave a Reply

