How to make a Goal Plan: a plan designed to help you reach ANY goal.

IMG_1065Through out life, we have all had many goals. Some of us, well to be honest- most of us, have probably failed at at least one of those goals a time or two. If not, YOU GO! I admire your dedication. But, back to the 90% of us. It’s so easy to dream, it’s so easy to point out the things in our lives and how we want to change them, and it’s also so easy to move on to a new goal or dream or put the goal on the back burner. Things just happen that end up keeping us from them. Sometimes they are things that legitimately get in the way, like breaking your ankle as you train for a marathon but most of the time, we end up making excuses and slap the word “reason” on it as we try to convince ourselves that the “reason” is totally a block and that we will get to it whenever we can. I have done this my entire life. Always wanting to do something, but always failing at it for some reason excuse.

I stopped doing that last year and it has changed my life in so many ways. I have reached goals that I had been wanting to for 10 years or longer. It feels amazing and I am so proud of myself for reaching them. What helped me reach them was having a Goal Plan and one of the most important things we as humans can probably learn, discipline. 

Believe it or not, you are already pretty disciplined. Think about it, you go to work each day when you really don’t want to. Now, you’re probably saying, “I only do that because I have to not because I’m disciplined.” And that is where you are wrong. Yes, you do partake in things because you have to, but that in itself is a big part of discipline, having a reason, realizing it, and following through. If you didn’t have any kind of discipline, you would probably just stay in bed in the mornings and let your utilities get shut off, but I’m betting you don’t.

In a Goal Plan we use discipline. The two are like Peanut Butter and Jelly. They compliment each other perfectly and if you leave one of them out, it just isn’t the same. So get out a piece of paper (or print out the handout below), something to write with, and let’s make you your own Goal Plan so you can start reaching your goals too. If you can’t do it now, just bookmark this post and come back to it later. I promise, this is something you are going to want to do. It changed my life and I know it will change yours.

  1. So, first things first. We need to state your goal. For the sake of this article, I’m going to use my own personal goal so you can see examples. This one is really simple, just state your goal.     Goal: 

    to lose 50 pounds.

  2. The second step is to figure out the reason, WHY, you want to reach this goal. This could be any reason, try to be as specific and as honest as possible. This will help you stay clear about why you’re doing this and it will keep you motivated.                                                                         Reason: 

    I want to live a longer life and feel better about myself.

  3. Next you need to justify why the reason for your goal is important. This can also be for many reasons, to make yourself happy, to better the world, to strengthen your marriage. You need a reason for your reason. This will help you to drive your reasons home and make you realize how important they really are to you.                                                                             Why is this important?

    If I died young, I would be missing out on a life full of joy and would be leaving those who loved me behind. Plus, confidence is a major factor in happiness. Who wants to live a less than happy life?

  4. Now we need to establish what happens if you fail at your goal. Will you be less than happy, will your marriage have unmet needs, will your health suffer? When you realize what is at stake, you realize how much you will lose by ditching your goal. List as many as you can think of.         What if I fail? 

    I could die earlier than I should have due to heart disease or something like that, I could develop diabetes, I won’t have as much confidence as I would like and thus putting a damper on the life I do live, pain for my loved ones, my children may follow my foot steps of bad eating habits. (*note: I think everyone should feel confident in whatever body they have and love, I personally would just feel more confident in mine if I were healthier.)

  5. What do you need to do to reach this goal? This is one of the most important steps to a Goal Plan. If you don’t realize the steps you need to take, how will you get there? If you don’t know, take some time to think about it, do some research, or ask someone.                         How will I reach my goal?

    I will eat proper portion sizes, I will exercise at least 4 days a week, I will do yoga, I will add in more fruits and veggies to my diet.

  6. This is the final step and the one to spend the most time on. You need to ask yourself what kind of obstacles you may face and how to get by them. When it comes to failing at goals, it’s often because something pops up and we end up caving or getting weak. Addressing the issues ahead of time will help you to be prepared when they come so you don’t end up making the wrong choice and going back on your goal.                                                                             What kind of obstacles will I face? How will I tackle them?

    I REALLY want a cookie: I will eat 1 cookie, not 3.

    I am too tired to work out: I power through it and gain natural energy from the work out.

    My mom wants to go out to dinner: I will control how much I eat and leave behind the leftovers.

    I had a bad day: Exercise releases endorphin’s do your brain, thus making you happy. And will dodging your goal make you feel better?

    I haven’t lost any weight yet: I will keep trying.

 

And there we have it. A simple, 6 step goal plan that will help you stay focused on what you want to accomplish and actually get you there. Often when we fail at our goals, it’s because we lack something that this goal plan addresses. Feel free to print my copy out here and just fill it out on your own. Carry it around with you, make a copy for your fridge, put it on your desk. Whatever helps you remember your goal and why it’s important, do it. Thanks to this goal plan, I have finally been losing the weight I have wanted to for so long, I am almost finished writing my first novel, and I am saving for my first home with my husband. No goal is too big or too small to use the plan for and I recommend filling it out for each one of your goals and any new goals you may come across.

Good luck to you and your goals and be sure and check back in and let me know how your goal reaching is doing!

Download the printable Goal Plan here!   Goal Plan

Leave a Reply

