Why you should ditch that Diet.

Ditch that Diet

Last year, around this time, it was 4 months until my Wedding and at my heaviest weight. I had planned on being at least at the weight I was at when I met my husband but no, I was at my heaviest. I believe everyone is beautiful, no matter how big or small, or what shape they are. I also believe in doing what makes yourself feel better. I was over weight. I didn’t like that about myself. Back then I hated it because of vain reasons…I didn’t think my chubby arms looked pretty in a sleeveless dress, my extra round face would look better if it were much more slender, I would look so much prettier in my pictures if I were 30 pounds lighter, you get the idea. So I told myself I was going to hardcore diet and exercise. I was going to shed 30 pounds in the next 2 months before my dress fitting. I could and would do it.

Fast Forward to my wedding day, I still weighed the same as I did when I told myself I was going to shed those 30 pounds. That weight loss did not happen. I wasn’t sure why at the time I just knew that I didn’t reach my goal. I got married in May and in July I changed my life.

As I type this, I am 25 pounds lighter than I was this time last year. Not because I found some miracle diet, not because I started taking diet pills, not because I started starving myself, but because I simply started caring about myself.

As you guys may have read in a previous post of mine, I went through a hormonal shock when I began a new hormonal birth control. When this happened to me, I really began to pay attention (FINALLY) to my health. When I went through that shock, I began to realize that if I didn’t treat my body good, my body was not going to treat me good. I wanted a happy, healthy, long life.

Thanks to those changes I am 25 pounds down, I am still losing, and I am happy. I’m not miserable or cranky, I’m not looking at pictures of yummy food and crying, I am doing wonderful. When people ask me about my diet, I am happy to tell them that I’m not on any sort of diet. I’m simply just taking better care of myself and then I go into explaining how I have lost 25 pounds, how I am still losing weight, and how I’m not having to diet or take any sort of supplement or pill. I know this totally sounds like I am about to go into a big spill about some kind of expensive food plan to buy, or some kind of miracle natural tea, but I promise, what I’m about to share with you has nothing to do with anything you need to buy and no company what so ever. It’s simply how I made some changes to better my life, and the results that I got.

So sit back, and get ready to change your life! You know, only if you want to ūüôā

1.)¬†Health (the right reason)-¬†Health is the reason I actually lost weight this time. It should be the reason you want to lose weight. Losing weight for the right reason makes all of the difference. Losing weight to look good in pictures, losing weight to wear a dress you like, losing weight just because you think you are supposed to be skinny, those are all of the wrong reasons and unless you are doing it to truly better yourself, you are more set up to fail. You are much more likely to say “It’s just a dress. This brownie is much better than that dress” and you are more likely to
subconsciously care a lot less about it than you would if you were truly doing it to better your life. So make the right choice. Do this for the right reasons. You are beautiful no matter what number the scale says, but when it comes to health, your weight truly can matter there.

2.) Portion Control-¬†Portion Control has been the BIGGEST change I have made. It was also the hardest. Now that I am eating healthy portions, I look back and don’t know how I was consuming so much. We eat so much more than we realize. When I looked at what a good serving size was, I was astonished because I usually ate double or triple of what was suggested. Guys, I promise, you don’t need 2 cups full of mashed potatoes. The right size serving WILL get you full. Portion Control comes down to two things,¬†Mental¬†Power¬†and¬†Actually Doing It.¬†We get our idea of what a portions look like from our family or just what we have been doing for so long. So when it come’s to portion controlling, you have to change your ideas of what a portion size looks like. So many of us confuse hunger with just the sensation of wanting the food itself. Know the difference between hunger and just wanting to taste the yummy food some more. Deep down, you know the difference. Half of the time you just don’t think about it and know you want more so you just go get more.You need to take out the suggested serving, and let that be that. After you eat it, tell yourself “I’m not hungry”, I just want more. I have had enough.”¬† Then get up and go do something. If you still feel actual hunger, drink a glass of water and then wait 20 minutes. If you still feel hungry, eat a healthy snack like an apple. Don’t go back for more mashed potatoes. This is the Mental part of it. Know the difference, know when your full, and know what the right serving size is. The next thing, the hardest part, is just doing it. Just do it. Think of why you are doing this. You want to be healthy and live long. They say if you can do something for 28 days, you have made it through the hardest part and it is now a habit. So make portion control a habit, after 28 days I can promise you, you will be getting fuller much faster and eating the same amount that you used to will seem close to impossible.

3.) Exercise-¬†Yes. I know. Exercise. Wah. But seriously, exercise will benefit you all over. From your mental health to your psychical health, exercise effects all aspects of our bodies. Exercising can even help anxiety and depression. It makes all of the difference in the world to exercise. If you don’t exercise, you are putting your body in a bad place. You are depriving something awesome from it. Exercising helps and keeps you losing weight, beyond just portion control. It is the most important decision you can make when it comes to your health. Remember what I said about the 28 day rule? It applies here too. If you can stick to a work out routine for 28 days, it won’t be so taunting. It’ll just be part of your day. What helped me in the beginning to stick to it, to get on that treadmill when I really just wanted to nap, was not giving myself a choice. Seriously I just didn’t even let myself think about it. I got up as soon as my husband went to work, put on my clothes, and hopped on. I did it every day. I didn’t ponder on when I should work out, or if I should, or what I should do. I did the same thing, at the same time, everyday. So make it just a part of your schedule as much as you do brushing your teeth. Tell yourself, when I get home everyday I am going to get on the treadmill as soon as I get home. Don’t sit down and get comfy, just do it. Eventually it’ll just stick. It won’t be so hard, it’ll be normal. If you find yourself too busy after work, get up earlier and do it before work. It is proven that exercise actually gives you energy. So a good morning work out before work would be an awesome way to start your day. Also distract yourself and do something enjoyable when you work out. When I was on the treadmill, I would watch a certain TV show that I really loved that I only allowed myself to watch when I was on the treadmill. So it kept me distracted from my workout and the way I felt and I looked forward to it everyday because I knew I got to watch my show. Whatever works for you and gets you going, do it. There are no excuses. You don’t need a machine to work out. You can do it all at home without anything. Just get moving! ūüôā

4.) Rewards-¬†The biggest question I get when I talk about losing weight is “Don’t you miss dessert? Burgers?” Nope. I don’t. Because I still have them. When I want a burger, see¬†point 2.)¬†Portion control. You can still have burgers! You can still have dessert- I do every night. Just don’t go crazy. If you have a sweet tooth like I do, then you know how strong the force can be. Just don’t go over board. Eat 3 Oreos, not 8. Get yourself a plate out, dish out the right portion, and put the thing of cookies up. The thing is, when we deprive ourselves, we end up giving up because of how aggravating it is. We say “I shouldn’t have to live my entire life without another brownie!” ¬†and if you don’t have diabetes or an allergy, you are absolutely right. You shouldn’t and don’t have to. You can lose weight and still eat what you want! Eat the right size brownie. If the box says it makes 16 and you only end up with 8, you are cutting them way too big. Always make sure you are dishing out the right portions. Now, this is about health. So I’m not saying eat every single meal as greasy and as bad as you want. You need to add veggies and fruits into your diet, when you can make a healthier choice- like chicken instead of beef, you should. You should always aim to eat healthy most of your meals, most days. But if you want a burger, eat a burger. Just eat the right size. Don’t ever deprive yourself or go without your favorite foods. Don’t ever beat yourself up or make yourself feel bad for eating what you really want. You can and will lose weight just by portion control. Portion control is wonderful for your health. Just try and be a healthier person over all and get your fruits and veggies and watch the red meat intake. Keep it well rounded. Look for healthier versions of what you like, pinterest yummy healthy dinners, just don’t say no to a night of appetizers and ice cream with your girlfriends because your being healthy. Depriving will just lead into giving up. And we all deserve a brownie from time to time. For us, I cook healthy dinners most days of the week and then at night we have a dessert that isn’t healthy. When you go on strict diets, when you stop them, you will gain all the weight back and then some, and it’ll come fast and easy. Your body gets used to certain foods, like low carbs or low fat and then you eat a sandwhich or something and then BAM there it comes. When you change your lifestyle and still eat what you like, your body is already used to those foods so it isn’t going to go into a little shock and start packing on the pounds.

Diets aren’t lifestyles, they aren’t to make you healthy. They are to make you lose weight. That is their only purpose. They aren’t concentrated on health. They are concentrated on shedding pounds. By portion control, exercise, and healthy additions for a healthy lifestyle you will get¬†just that, a healthy lifestyle. It’s not a diet. It’s about living better and being healthier but also being happy and balanced. I eat a lot more veggies but I also let myself have dessert. I make Quiona Enchilada Casserole instead of Beef filled Enchiladas but if I really wanted just a regular Enchilada I would have¬†one.¬†I want my body to be happy and healthy so I exercise Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. I don’t want to take up time with my husband so I take the weekend’s off. It’s all about balance and ADDING¬†in Healthy things, instead of taking them away.

This diet worked for me and tons of other’s. When you allow yourself to portion control, exercise, still eat what you want, and do it for the right reason, you will lose the weight, you won’t feel like it’s a chore, and you will be happier and healthier. You won’t feel like a slave to something you hate. And the best part? You will keep it off. You will be better for it.

What do you guys do to help your weight loss? Do any of you benefit from any of these? Comment below your experiences! I love to hear from you guys! 

One thought on “Why you should ditch that Diet.

Leave a Reply

