DIY: From Oatmeal to Glamorous Decor

IMG_0291

I wasn’t sure which to put into the title, Storage Container…Vase…Decor… because really you can use it for whatever you want. Since I’m using it for Decor I went ahead and threw that in but seriously you can use it for whatever your heart desires.

The thing I missed the most after my wedding was over was all of the crafts. It was SO fun to sit and make ordinary things into glamorous things. So anytime I have a chance to DIY anything, I jump on it. This project was SO easy that anyone can do it. I also had everything already on hand so I didn’t have to buy anything. For those of you who may not have the stuff on hand, it’s a very cheap craft and it is completely customizable so you can use whatever colors you want.

This is what you need:

  • An oatmeal container- any size
  • Acrylic Paint Color of your Choice
  • Paint Brush
  • Modge Podge- original or gloss
  • Glitter the same color of your paint.
  • Piece of Paper
  • Water

Now, the fun part! Putting it together…

I recommend putting down a towel, things are going to get a little messy.

Paint your Oatmeal Container with the Paint color you picked out after cleaning out the inside. Our bedroom is black and gold so I chose black. You can paint the inside if you want to, but I just let it plain.

IMG_0194 (1)Go ahead and let it dry at least 2-3 hours. Acrylic Paint dries fast but it’s good to use your best judgement. You want the paint to be completely dry.

IMG_0258

When it’s dry, it’s time to make it rain glitter!

Take your paint brush and paint a strip of Modge Podge. After you paint the strip, sprinkle the glitter on it making sure to hold your container over a piece of paper. If you skip holding it over paper you will run out of glitter fast! The paper catches the glitter and allows you to pour it back into your glitter container.

IMG_0259

Continue until the whole thing is covered in Glitter. Then let it dry over night.

The next day, mix 2 parts water to 1 part Modge Podge in a bowl. Paint your water mix all over your glittery container. This will seal in the glitter so your vase isn’t constantly shedding glitter everywhere.

IMG_0281

Continue until the whole thing is covered, making sure to get each and every inch. Don’t worry, it dries clear 🙂

IMG_0282

Let that dry over night.

When you wake up, you have a fabulous, inexpensive, very glamorous decor piece for your house.

IMG_0289

I sat it next to a candle and another DIY Bottle Project I made about a month ago on our dresser. I love it and plan on adding in some of our leftover wedding flowers! When my other thing of oatmeal runs out, I will probably make a gold one.

This is easy, inexpensive, and so fun to make. Buying a glitter vase like this at the store…I can’t even imagine how much they could cost and the fun is taken out of it.

Be sure and let me know if you plan on making this and what you plan to use it for. I love hearing from you!

4 thoughts on “DIY: From Oatmeal to Glamorous Decor

Leave a Reply

