Slow Cooker Meal: Cherry Chai Chicken

Since my husband has started working 2nd Shift, quick meals have become something I have learned to embrace. We now make dinner for lunch so my husband can enjoy a nice home cooked meal everyday. They cut down on prep time and cooking time and gives me more time to hang out with my handsome hubby before he leaves me for the day. Since I love to cook, I wasn’t up for just eating frozen food everyday that we heat up (nothing wrong with it, it just takes away a piece of my passion). I quickly learned that Slow Cookers are where it’s at. You prep it all the night before and when you wake up, it’s all ready to dig into. I rarely cooked in my slow cooker before, so I grabbed an old cook book (Sandra Lee Semi-Homemade: slow cooker recipes) my mom bought me years ago that was centered around slow cooker meals. The Cherry Chai Chicken really stood out to me because I love fruit infused meats and I absolutely LOVE Chai Tea lattes. Since I am about saving money at the grocery store, and knew I wanted to buy some Chai Tea to make some lattes now that fall has arrived, the recipe seemed even better. So I quicky wrote it down on my meal list. I ended up tweaking the recipe some to make it cost effective, to alter it to my family’s liking, and to fit my 10 quart slow cooker vs a 5 quart one that the original recipe called for, I will note any changes.

What you need: 

3 Chicken Breasts (the original recipe called for thighs, I prefer boneless, skinless chicken breasts)

Salt and Pepper

1 cup of Frozen Pitted Cherries (most bags are around 2-3 cups, so think smoothies for leftovers!)

Half an Onion Sliced (or diced up, my husband likes to pick out his onions so slices make it easier for us)

3 Chai Spice Tea Bags (original recipe called for 2)

1 cup of Cherry Preserves (original recipe calls for 1/2 cup)

2.5 cups of 100% Real grape Juice (the original recipe called for 1/2 any port wine for a 5 quart slow cooker)

1/2 cup of water (the original recipe did not use any water)

Let’s get cooking:

  1. Sprinkle some Salt and Pepper onto your Chicken Breasts and then broil on the lower rack for about 6 minutes. This allows the skin to get a nice firm outer layer. IMG_9767
  2. Layer your Onion Slices, Your Cherries, and your tea bags at the bottom of your slow cooker.IMG_9764
  3. Pop your chicken on top of your layers IMG_9768
  4. Mix up your juice, your preserves, and water then pour it all over the chicken.IMG_9771
  5. Cover and cook on Low for 4-6 hours.
  6. Take your chicken out and sit it aside (covering it up with some foil ensures it will stay warm)
  7. Remove your tea bags (Tip: Press them with a spoon to get a little more of the absorbed flavor back into the dish)
  8. Put your juice mixture into a pan and bring it to a boil. Cook until it gets to a thickness you like and pour it on top of your chicken.

and that’s it! I served it with some easy flavored rice which paired well with it but the original recipes suggests serving it over some noodles (worth a try!) The chicken was packed full of flavor and will not disappoint, I promise!

If you tried out the original recipe, let me know how it turns out!

Do you guys use your slow cooker meals often or is it a rare occasion in your house?

Subscribe to The Wife’s Life to keep up with more yummy recipes like this one and much more!

Leave a Reply

