3 ingredient Polish Sausage and Potato One Skillet Dinner.

As my first blog post over at The Wife’s Life, I wanted to feature a recipe. Cooking is truly my passion and has been my entire life, not just after being married. I remember being 10 and creating some concoctions (like toast with jelly cut up into cute rectangles served up on a pretty plate, drizzled with chocolate) because my heart was set on being a chef when I grew up. My food wasn’t bad then but I can certainly say it’s actually much better now that I have many more years of cooking under my belt. 

One thing that has changed since my childhood cooking ventures is that a picky eater has entered my life aka my husband. He has a very distinct pallet and can pick up on every little flavor and there are a few things he swears off from ever even trying in his life, like mayonnaise. I know. I gasped too when I found this out. But his distinct pallet and picky eating ways have opened me up to new cooking challenges that have certainly made me grow. I know I can count on him to give me honest opinions on my cooking, that way, if something needs improved, I know to go back and try again until it’s perfected. As a wife, I know the great feeling of your husband telling you just how delicious dinner was, and the delight that comes when he asks you to please make it for him again. So husband approved dinners is something I plan on writing about often. As well as other recipes that you and/or your husband may love, that my husband may not (like spinach dip, yeah, he refuses to try it, mayonnaise). 

On to the recipe. This one is something my husband really loves. Him and his whole family are all big meat and potato eaters. This dinner is perfectly themed around the meat and potato lover. He requested I make it this week, so I thought, why not make this my first blog post while I’m at it. This recipe is SUPER easy and will please even the pickiest eater. The ingredient list is tiny, the items are inexpensive, and everyone’s bellies will be full.

So here’s what you need:

  • Polish Sausage (either in smaller links or one long link)
  • 4 large Russet Potatoes (or whatever your favorite potato may be)
  • 1 tablespoon Garlic Powder
  • 6 tablespoons of Vegetable Oil
  • Water
  • Salt
  • I used some of Lowry’s Seasoned Salt, but it is totally optional.

Your first step will be to peel and slice all of your potatoes into round slices. Rinse them off and place them in a big bowl of ice cold water and then put the bowl in the fridge for an hour. This allows the starch to be pulled away from the potatoes. The starch can make frying potatoes a nightmare. It can cause your outside to cook way quicker than your inside, and no one likes burnt potatoes. So soak those potatoes guys. After the hour, just rinse them off and pat them dry.

See the icky starch leftover?

Sausage and potatoes 4 

Now heat up about 6 tablespoons of vegetable oil in a skillet on medium high heat until it barely starts to bubble. While waiting for the oil to heat up, slice your polish sausage into half inch round pieces and sprinkle with salt and pepper or Lowry’s seasoned salt.

 

Sausage and Potatoes 1

When the oil is ready, turn it down to medium heat and add in your sausage. Cook until it’s a browned.

Sausage and potatoes 3

Remove the sausage from the skillet with a slotted spoon (so the oil can drain back into the pan) and sit it off to the side. Now, add your potatoes and sprinkle with a tablespoon of garlic powder (or more for a higher garlic kick) and fry them until they are a golden brown. When the potatoes are done, place your sausage back into the skillet and stir until it’s all mixed together. Sprinkle on top with salt, and then BAM, you are done. See?! How easy! and SO yummy. 

Sausage and potatoes 5Sausage and potatoes 6

May I add that is serves amazingly with Mac and Cheese?! but it also stands amazingly alone. 

 

This is certainly a household favorite. Who doesn’t love a little meat and potatoes? 

 

Follow me on my Wife Life Journey. Subscribe to The Wife’s Life to get more husband approved meals coming your way! 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

